on February 1, 2008 by in Uncategorized, Comments (0)

Awards presented to Oconee Rescue Squad

SENECA — Tracy Payne, a member of Westminster Rescue Squad, was named the “Rescue Squad Member of the Year” for 2007, during the recent annual Rescue Squad Awards Banquet at Gignilliat Center.

Payne is the treasurer of Westminster Rescue Squad and has held that position for the past four years. She has spent countless hours getting quotes for equipment that the squad wanted to purchase and keeping the financial records for the squad. She recently created a bravery award for children that were involved in a school bus accident in her community. Her dedication is an example to all of her fellow squad members.

She is also a member of the Cleveland Fire Department and assists Stephens County Fire Department on calls near the Westminster Fire district line. She responded to many fire rehab calls to check vitals of firefighters at fire scenes. She has also helped with fire prevention in her community. She assisted on several saves during the year and ensured that a rescue vehicle arrived on many rescue scenes. She responded to 176 rescue squad calls in 2007.

“Payne is an asset to the Westminster Rescue Squad, Cleveland Fire Department and to the citizens of Oconee County. Recognition of her dedication and contributions to Oconee County is well deserved,” commented Oconee County Emergency Services Director Rodney Burdette.

“Hundreds of Oconee County citizens benefited from Payne’s responses to emergency situations this past year,” he added.

This award is presented annually to a member of the Oconee County Rescue Squad System based on his/her major contributions to the citizens of Oconee County. The Oconee County Emergency Protection Services Commission members select the winner based on nominations received from the eight county rescue squad divisions.

Other rescue squad members receiving recognition and plaques as members of the year from each rescue squad division were: Phil Galloway, Seneca Rescue Squad; Tammy Wilbanks, Salem Rescue Squad; Diane Mason, Oakway Rescue Squad; Jeff Bates, Walhalla Rescue Squad; Patsy Simmons, Mountain Rest Rescue Squad; and Richard Belmore, Dive Team and Sam McClung, Special Rescue.

These awards are presented annually by Emergency Services to individuals who have provided extraordinary services to the community.

All Oconee County Rescue Squad members are dedicated volunteer citizens. They unselfishly give of their time and unique talents to assist and care for people. In addition, all rescue squad members devote numerous hours in the evening and on weekends for recertification classes and new training. They are a tremendous asset to the community and are valuable members of Oconee County Emergency Services, which serves the people of Oconee County.

The awards banquet was made possible by generous donations from the following sponsors: Duke Energy, Blue Ridge Electric, Itron, US Engine Valve, Alexander’s Office Supply, Safe Industries, Bermuda Triangle, Med-Trans, Response 911 and Outfitters 911.