on December 1, 2009 by in Uncategorized, Comments (0)

Tigers’ McDaniel, Palmer, Spiller named first team All-ACC

RALEIGH, N.C. — A telling sign of how prolific Georgia Tech’s offense was this season: Nearly half of its starters made the all-Atlantic Coast Conference first team.

The 12th-ranked Yellow Jackets placed five offensive players, and six players overall, on the all-ACC team announced Monday after a vote conducted by 40 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Among the Coastal Division champions on the first team were quarterback Josh Nesbitt, running back and reigning ACC player of the year Jonathan Dwyer, receiver Demaryius Thomas, guard Cord Howard and center Sean Bedford.

They were among the cornerstones of a group that led the ACC in scoring (35 points per game), total offense (440.5 ypg), rushing offense (305 ypg) and pass efficiency (160.7 rating).

They, and all-league defensive end Derrick Morgan, helped the Yellow Jackets vault into the top 10 before last week’s loss to rival Georgia and claim a spot in this week’s conference title game in Tampa, Fla. The Yellow Jackets will face Atlantic Division champion Clemson, with the winner advancing to the Orange Bowl.

The Tigers had three players on the first team, led by multi-threat star C.J. Spiller — who made the first-team as a specialist and the second team as a running back. He averaged 76 yards rushing, led the league with an average of 183.9 all-purpose yards and returned four kickoffs for touchdowns. Joining him are teammates Michael Palmer at tight end and DeAndre McDaniel at safety.

Five Tigers made the second team led by wide receiver Jacoby Ford, offensive guard Thomas Austin, offensive tackle Chris Hairston and defensive end Ricky Sapp.

Linebacker Brandon Maye, defensive tackle Jarvis Jenkins, cornerback Chris Chancellor, cornerback Crezdon Butler and safety Rashard Hall were all honorable mention selections.

Virginia Tech freshman Ryan Williams was one of four Hokies on the first team. He led the ACC with an average of 128.2 yards and a total 20 touchdowns, and was joined by kicker Matt Waldron, linebacker Cody Grimm and punter Brent Bowden.

Miami and North Carolina each landed four players on the first team.

All four of the Tar Heels’ selections — end Robert Quinn, linebacker Quan Sturdivant and backs Kendric Burney and Deunta Williams — came from a defense that statistically was the best in the ACC, allowing averages of 267.8 total yards and 92.8 yards on the ground.

Offensive tackle Jason Fox, defensive tackle Allen Bailey, cornerback Brandon Harris and kicker Matt Bosher — who also was the second-team punter — represent the Hurricanes.

Boston College was the only other school with multiple first-team selections, offensive tackle Anthony Castonzo and freshman linebacker Luke Kuechly, the league’s leading tackler.

Duke’s Donovan Varner, who led the conference with 5.4 receptions per game, joined Thomas at receiver.

The rest of the first team includes North Carolina State tight end George Bryan, Florida State offensive guard Rodney Hudson, Virginia defensive tackle Nate Collins and Maryland linebacker Alex Wujciak. The only school with no first-team selections was Wake Forest, and defensive tackle John Russell was the Demon Deacons’ lone second-team honoree.



QB_Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech (50)

RB_Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech (67)

RB_Ryan Williams, Virginia Tech (63)

WR_Demaryius Thomas, Georgia Tech (63)

WR_Donovan Varner, Duke (50)

TE_George Bryan, N.C. State (39)

TE_Michael Palmer, Clemson (39)

OT_Jason Fox, Miami (57)

OT_Anthony Castonzo, Boston College (53)

OG_Rodney Hudson, Florida State (54)

OG_Cord Howard, Georgia Tech (47)

C_Sean Bedford, Georgia Tech (45)

K_Matt Waldron, Virginia Tech (27)

K_Matt Bosher, Miami (27)

Spc_C.J. Spiller, Clemson (76)


DE_Derrick Morgan, Georgia Tech (76)

DE_Robert Quinn, North Carolina (69)

DT_Nate Collins, Virginia (47)

DT_Allen Bailey, Miami (38)

LB_Cody Grimm, Virginia Tech (65)

LB_Luke Kuechly, Boston College (53)

LB_Quan Sturdivant, North Carolina (44)

LB_Alex Wujciak, Maryland (44)

CB_Kendric Burney, North Carolina (59)

CB_Brandon Harris, Miami (41)

S_DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson (57)

S_Deunta Williams, North Carolina (53)

P_Brent Bowden, Virginia Tech (57)




QB_Thaddeus Lewis, Duke (18)

RB_C.J. Spiller, Clemson (62)

RB_Montel Harris, Boston College (39)

WR_Torrey Smith, Maryland (25)

WR_Jacoby Ford, Clemson (24)

TE_Greg Boone, Virginia Tech (16)

OT_Ed Wang, Virginia Tech (31)

OT_Chris Hairston, Clemson (26)

OG_Thomas Austin, Clemson (39)

OG_Sergio Render, Virginia Tech (37)

C_Matt Tennant, Boston College (29)

K_Casey Barth, North Carolina (21)

K_Will Snyderwine, Duke (21)

Spc_Torrey Smith, Maryland (17)


DE_Ricky Sapp, Clemson (29)

DE_Willie Young, N.C. State (24)

DE_Jason Worilds, Virginia Tech (24)

DT_Marvin Austin, North Carolina (32)

DT_John Russell, Wake Forest (29)

LB_Vincent Rey, Duke (29)

LB_Darryl Sharpton, Miami (21)

LB_Bruce Carter, North Carolina (17)

LB_Colin McCarthy, Miami (17)

LB_Dekoda Watson, Florida State (17)

CB_Ras-I Dowling, Virginia (26)

CB_Patrick Robinson, Florida State (26)

S_Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech (51)

S_Kam Chancellor, Virginia Tech (24)

P_Matt Bosher, Miami (37)